The Funk Brothers – Ain’t No Mountain High Enough (Soundtrack „Standing In The Shadows Of Motown“)

The Funk Brothers was the nickname of Detroit-based session musicians who performed the backing to most Motown recordings from 1959 until the company moved to Los Angeles in 1972. They are considered one of the most successful groups of studio musicians in music history. The Funk Brothers played on Motown hits such as „My Girl“, „I Heard It Through the Grapevine“, „Baby Love“, „Signed, Sealed, Delivered I’m Yours“, „Papa Was a Rollin‘ Stone“, „The Tears of a Clown“, „Ain’t No Mountain High Enough“, and „Heat Wave“.

The role of the Funk Brothers is described in Paul Justman’s 2002 documentary film Standing in the Shadows of Motown, based on Allan Slutsky’s book of the same name. The opening titles claim that the Funk Brothers have „played on more number-one hits than the Beatles, Elvis Presley, the Rolling Stones and the Beach Boys combined.“

James Lee Jamerson (January 29, 1936 – August 2, 1983) was an American bass player. He was the uncredited bassist on most of the Motown Records hits in the 1960s and early 1970s (Motown did not list session musician credits on their releases until 1971) and he is now regarded as one of the most influential bass players in modern music history. He was inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame in 2000. As a session musician he stands in second place to English drummer Clem Cattini having played on 30 number one hits to Cattini’s 44. Jamerson also played on more than 70 number-one R&B hits.


Zip-File includes: Standard Notation + TAB